Land Acknowledgment

Land Acknowledgment

The Swedish American Museum acknowledges that it stands on the ancestral lands of the Council of the Three Fires (Ojibwe, Odawa, and Potawatomi Nations), Očhéthi Šakówiŋ, Hoocąk (Ho-Chunk), Myaamia (Miami), Kakaskia, Peoria, Kiikaapoi (Kickapoo), and Sac and Fox nations. The Museum is on land included in the Treaty with the Ottawa, Etc. dated 1816.

Prior to being forcibly removed from their land in the early 19th century, the native people of the Chicago area had thriving settlements and trade networks throughout the Great Lakes. Some roadways in Chicago even reflect the trade routes originally established by these native tribes. Today, there are over 22,000 Indigenous people living in Chicago, with large populations residing in Brighton Park and Lake View. The Mitchell Museum of the American Indian, American Indian Center of Chicago, and American Indian Association of Illinois are a few institutions in the Chicagoland area that are committed to preserving and celebrating their Indigenous culture.

The Swedish American Museum is committed to sharing open and honest views on Chicago’s history, the development of the city over time, and the impact immigrants have had on this land. We recognize there are stories and voices we have yet to hear. We are continuously learning and welcome challenges and changes to our perspectives.

Pronunciation Guide:
Ojibwe (oh-jib-way)
Odawa (oh-daa-wuh)
Potawatomi (pah-tuh-wah-tuh-mee)
Očhéthi Šakówiŋ (oh-chey-tee shah-koh-ween)
Ho-Chunk (ho-chunk)
Kaskaskia (kah-ska-skee-uh)
Kickapoo (kick-uh-poo)
Myaamia (mee-ah-mee-ah)
Peoria (pee-aw-ree-uh)
Sac and Fox (sack-and-fox)

Links for more information:

Cultural Institutions: American Indian Center of Chicago Mitchell Museum of the American Indian American Indian Association of Illinois Chicago American Indian Community Collaborative